Creativity Dates

Many of you have asked me, “Stella, what exactly do you do on your creativity dates?” The first time I learned about “Artist Date” was in the wonderful book The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. Many creatives would agree that this book is a classic. As defined by the author an “Artist Date is a block of time, perhaps two hours weekly, especially set aside and committed to nurturing your creative consciousness, your inner artist.”

Julia Cameron also says, “An Artist Date is an excision, a play date that you preplan and defend all interlopers. You do not take anyone on this Artist Date but you and your inner artist, a.k.a. your inner child.

I was very inspired by this concept so I decided that these dates would become an integral part of my life. I decided to call it Creativity Dates. Thanks to Julia Cameron for the inspiration. I treat this time as I would any other commitment. It’s on the calendar. I stick by this time, I respect it and plan accordingly.

Today, I had another Creativity Date but instead of two hours, I decided to do a whole day. I needed to recharge. I had several events during the past week that I consciously said yes to in order to show support to my friends and community. But I knew that comes Sunday, I was going to feel tired. So, I replace “feeling tired” with “feeling inspired”. I replace laying on my great blue couch (don’t worry, that still happened) for “inspiration walks”.

What am I looking for? What am I trying to find or create? What sort of things do I want to get done by the end of it? I don’t know. I leave that open. I want life to surprise me with its thoughts and questions, with it’s beauties and confusions.

Today’s findings, thoughts and observations include:

cd2.JPG

I wore booties mid-May. We are supposed to be getting warmer days. But this weather changed my patterns. It even confused me. What I come to understand is that confusion is a good thing. It keeps things on perspectives. It adds flavors to our life.

cd1.JPG

I love bookstores so much. I alway find my center there. Today I grabbed a cup of coffee and flip through several magazines. My final choice was Flow magazine: The Sketchbook edition. It teaches you how to draw simple things. I have always wanted to learn how to draw and this sounds like a neat start. I made a note on my pad to check out The Cultural Art Center for drawing classes. You never know when such skill could become useful. Either way, it’s very soothing to me. Tonight, a glass of malbec, a soy candle and my new book will be my company to quiet my mind.

cd 4

Next, I took an inspiration walk through Gay St. and Pearl Alley. It was a chilly morning so it was quiet in a wonderful way. Noticing the murals, the contrast and colors reminded me how much I love photography. I used to carry my professional camera everywhere. However, nowadays the iPhone seemed to replace it. Photography invites me to pay attention to details as it shows in the picture below. A lonely glass sitting on an empty patio.

cd 5

This inspiring walk also reminds me that the Farmer’s Market on Pearl Alley is around the corner. I can’t wait till Tuesdays and Fridays mornings are filled with local vendors. cd6.JPG

As I am strolling up and down the streets, I noticed this magnificent reminder: I’ll be attending the special Tango edition with the Columbus Symphony. I have an intense week ahead but just knowing this awaits for me on Saturday night gives me an extra dose of inspiration to look forward to.

cd 9

On my walk I also discovered this amazing “parklet” created by www.placemakes.org. Are you wondering what is this? Here’s the concept: They want to transform public parking spaces into “people’s spaces” with art, green, seatings, tables. A place for our community to share and enjoy. How amazing is that? You have to check out their website. You will definitely feel grateful to live in Columbus. cd7

I finished my date with a delicious soup at the Cafe in our Columbus Museum of Art. My journal was by my side because I had lots of ideas to capture. I made a list of things to think about, consider and prepare for. I have very strong WHY’s in my life. I’m just trying to figure out a lot of my HOW’s. I know the more I make time for my self, to clear my mind, observe what others are doing, the more I understand my own self.

So this was my day. I’m going to grill a fabulous steak, enjoy my Malbec and soon cuddle with my illustration book. Friends, I can tell you this much: meditation along with creativity dates energizes me in ways I had no idea it could. I hope you give it a try. I would love to know what ignites you!

Make it a fabulous week!

2 thoughts on “Creativity Dates

  1. Stella, you continue to inspire me. I’ve been curious about these creativity dates and I’m so glad you let us in on the secret. I am going to start creating my own creativity dates. It sounds just like what I need. Have a great week!

    Like

  2. This makes me so happy, Stella, that you allowed yourself a whole day. Your writing inspired several thoughts…among them, the super power of reflection and spending time creating instead of consuming. I love Julia Cameron and buy any books she has written. Do you do morning pages? Have a fabulous week, my friend! Here’s to many more creativity dates!

    Like

Leave a Reply

